SRL Hosts 2024 Teacher Workshop — Meet the participants!

July 2, 2024

Student Reporting Labs’ will host its annual Teacher Workshop from July 19-21 in Washington, DC at WETA.  Educators and local PBS station staff will work alongside the SRL team to strengthen their technical and editorial skills in interviewing, digital photography/videography, audio journalism, and editing. Educators will bring these hands-on experiences and skills back to their classrooms to support high school student journalists as they report important stories from a youth perspective.

Meet this year’s participants!

Althea Davis from PBS North Carolina in Raleigh, North Carolina

Amy M Wathen from Wakefield High School in Alexandria, Virginia

Anastasia Tikka from Shaw High School in Columbus, Georgia

Anthony M. Michael O’Bannon from Lakeland Elementary Middle School in Baltimore, Maryland

Betsy Freeman from Readington Middle School in Whitehouse Station, New Jersey 

Bryan Christopher from Riverside High School in Durham, North Carolina

Cara Buse from Eastside Early College High School in Austin, Texas

Chantori Nelson from Kendrick High School in Columbus, Georgia

Cindy Severino from Madison Park Technical Vocational High School in Randolph, Massachusetts

Conrad Burgos from Kensington CAPA in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Deborah Wischmann from John F. Kennedy High School in Olney, Maryland

Dennis Madrigal from Francis Polytechnic High School in West Hills, California

Dr. Sequoyah Wharton from Brentwood High School in Selden, New York

Emily Moncata from PBS SoCal in Los Angeles, California

Eric Gutierrez from Haskell STEM Academy in Fullerton, California

Francine “Franki” Foster from Kendrick High School in Columbus, Georgia 

Jacob Suriel from Summa San in New York, New York

Jasmine Binion from Cypress Ridge High School in Tomball, Texas

Jason Kaye from Attwood New Tech Magnet School in Canton, Michigan

Jennifer Buergermeister from The Woodlands College Park High School in The Woodlands, Texas

Kecia McClendon from Cody High School in Detroit, Michigan

Kelly Long from Blue Mountain School District in Ashland, Pennsylvania

Krista McKim from Rockville High School in Rockville, Maryland

Kristen Clark from Arlington Youth Journalism Initiative in Washington, D.C. 

Kunal Arora from Quince Orchard High School in Germantown, Maryland

Lee Rain Wallin from Whittier Elementary School in Washington, D.C. 

Lia Özizmirli from Maryland Humanities in Baltimore, Maryland

Lindsay Kellogg from McDonogh School in Odenton, Maryland

Matt Codner from Hendrick Hudson High School in Montrose, NY

Melissa Fox from Horace Furness High School in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Monica Rodriguez from Gulliver Preparatory School – Upper School Campus in Miami, Florida

Morgan Landolfi from Valley View Middle School in Watchung, New Jersey 

Nicole Jones Harper from Kendrick High School in Columbus, Georgia

Orithius Hardge from Kendrick High School in Columbus, Georgia

Patricia Pollack from Benjamin Tasker Middle School in Bowie, Maryland 

Rachelle Provost from Benjamin Tasker Middle School in Bowie, Maryland 

Robert Casas from Westview High School in San Diego, California

Stefanie Halliday from Greenhills School in Ann Arbor, Michigan

Tara Bordeaux from Austin ISD in Austin, Texas 

Tiffany Purnell from Northwood Elementary School #242 in Baltimore, Maryland

William Beustring from Maryland Public Television in Owings Mills, Maryland

Zachary Green from Whittier Elementary in Washington, DC

About Student Reporting Labs

Through video journalism, Student Reporting Labs (SRL) creates transformative educational experiences that inspire middle and high school students to report on the issues that matter to them, find their voice and engage with their communities. SRL lesson plans, assignment prompts and instruction tools facilitate project-based learning that builds critical thinking, problem-solving, teamwork, and communication skills. Follow Student Reporting Labs on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Major support is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, the MacArthur Foundation, the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health Science Education Partnership Award.                                                                                                                                          

About PBS NewsHour                                                                                  

PBS NewsHour is seen by over four million weekly viewers and is also available online, via public radio in select markets, and via podcast. PBS NewsHour is a production of NewsHour Productions LLC, a wholly-owned nonprofit subsidiary of WETA Washington, D.C., in association with WNET in New York. Major corporate funding is provided by BNSF, with additional support from Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, Carnegie Corporation of New York, the J. Paul Getty Trust, the S.D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Lemelson Foundation, National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, The PEW Charitable Trusts, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Ford Foundation, Skoll Foundation, The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Friends of the NewsHour and others. More information on PBS NewsHour is available at On social media, visit NewsHour on Facebook or follow @NewsHour on Twitter.